Saturday, December 13, 2014

After 52 Years, Heisman Returns To Pacific Northwest

Marcus Mariota quarterback of the Oregon Ducks has been awarded the 2014 Heisman Trophy as college player of the year. Although there have been many winners of the trophy from what is now the Pac-12, he is the second Pacific Northwest player to win the trophy and the first since Terry Baker of Oregon State was award the trophy in 1962.  Since there is intense rivalry between the 4 Pac-12 schools from Washington and Oregon, only Duck fans and maybe a scattering of Oregon State fans see this as a victory, the way I see it though, as a graduate of Washington State and a lifelong Washingtonian, the two most sought after football trophies, the Heisman and the Vince Lombardi (World Champion Seattle Seahawks), at this moment, rest here in the Pacific Northwest.

No comments: